Covid-19: Source of over 7,000 cases remain unknown, NCDC reveals - Focus News


Sunday, 31 May 2020

Covid-19: Source of over 7,000 cases remain unknown, NCDC reveals

The Nigeria Centre for Disease Control (NCDC) has revealed that source of contracting 7,276 coronavirus cases in the country is yet to be ascertained.
This was made known in a Situation Report made available published on Sunday by the NCDC.
According to the report, it was stated that 62,583 samples have been tested for COVID-19 in Nigeria.
Of the 62,583 samples, 9,855 are confirmed positive across 35 states in Nigeria and the Federal Capital Territory, Punch reports.
It also stated that 2,856 COVID-19 patients have been discharged in the country while 273 are dead.
While the most affected age group is 31 to 40, more males have been infected than females.
The PUNCH reports that 6,631, amounting to 67 per cent of those infected, are males, while 3,224 – 33 per cent – are females.
While listing the provenance of the cases, it said, “(Patients) with travel history – 222 (two per cent); contacts – 2,357 (24 per cent) unknown exposure – 7,276 (74 per cent).”
It also said 10,023 persons are of interest, saying that 9,959 (99.4 per cent) have exceeded follow-up.
Part of the report added, “553 confirmed cases were reported in the last 24 hours in fifteen (15) states – Lagos (378), FCT (52), Delta (23), Edo (22), Rivers (14), Ogun (13), Kaduna (12), Kano (nine), Borno (seven), Katsina (six), Jigawa (five), Oyo (five), Plateau (three), Yobe (three) and Osun (one).
“No new state recorded a confirmed COVID-19 case in the last 24 hours. The total number of states including FCT that have reported at least one confirmed case in Nigeria is still 36 (35 states + FCT).
“One hundred and fifty-nine cases were discharged in the last 24 hours in seventeen (17) states – Jigawa (31), Lagos (21), Ogun (18), Katsina (17), Yobe (16), FCT (11), Kaduna (10), Kano (eight), Bauchi (six), Borno (five), Rivers (four), Gombe (three), Sokoto (three), Delta (two), Oyo (two), Bayelsa (one) and Plateau (one).
“Twelve deaths were recorded in the last 24 hours in seven states – FCT (three), Lagos (three), Kano (two), Borno (one), Gombe (one), Jigawa (one) and Rivers (one).”

No comments:

Post a Comment